June 17, 2024


Complete Australian News World

2022 World Cup Draw: Everything you need to know

2022 World Cup Draw: Everything you need to know

With several locations yet to be determined, only 29 of the 32 entrants will be confirmed when the drawing begins at the Doha Exhibition Center at 7pm local time (12pm ET).

Here’s everything you need to know about the Friday party.

After winning the bid in 2010 and rewarding the hosts with automatic qualification, Qatar He had a decade to prepare for his World Cup debut.

The Gulf country will be joined by 10 European winners from the UEFA qualifying groups, led by the four-time winner. Germany And twice champion FranceBeside Spain And the EnglandBoth have one World Cup win in their names.

Serbia, Switzerland, Belgium, Denmark, Croatia and the Holland Collect the rest of the European group winners.

Portugal And the Poland They sealed their tickets after advancing in the European qualifiers, with wins over North Macedonia and Sweden respectively to ensure legendary forwards Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski take part in Qatar.

Brazilthe most successful country in World Cup history with five titles, was played by qualifying as the collective winner of the CONMEBOL – CONMEBOL – Round Robin.

The Seleção Followed by an old competitor ArgentinaBeside Uruguay And the Ecuador.

Fans flock to the pitch as Ghana beat Nigeria to the World Cup berth
An exciting week of CAF – Confederation of African Football (CAF) third round qualifiers has concluded Senegal Prove that it is the curse of Egypt once again, Secure its passage to Qatar Via sanctions on Tuesday.

Cameroon He outplayed Algeria thanks to the overtime winner, with Ghana, Tunisia And the Morocco, West, sunset Gather the rest of the African group scheduled for Friday draw.

READ  Anton Walks: Charlotte FC football player dies at age 25 after boat accident

In the AFC – Asian Football Confederation – Qualifiers Division, Iran, Saudi Arabia and South Korea And the Japan It underwent a guarantee of two consecutive World Cup appearances.

Canada Believer Its first qualification to the World Cup in 36 years after topping the CONCACAF – North, Central American and Caribbean Football Association – Round Robin.
Tajon Buchanan celebrates after Canada beat Jamaica 4-0 in the World Cup qualifiers to secure a place in Qatar.
Wednesday , United States of America He finished an eight-year spell at the World Cup Finals, Qualifying despite losing 2-0 against Costa Rica in San Jose. The neighbors will join them Mexicowho finished automatically third and last in the CONCACAF Qualifier Zone.

Who is still eligible?

Two intercontinental playoffs in June will determine the next two places. Peru will face the winner in The United Arab Emirates Reverse AustraliaWhile Costa Rica will face New Zealand In the other playoff.

The last place will be the winner of the match between Wales and one of Scotland or Ukrainea game that was initially scheduled for March 24 but Delayed By FIFA until June after the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

FIFA has yet to announce the date of the rescheduled qualification.

Who missed it?

European Champion title Italia He was undoubtedly the most shocking victim of qualifying, the four-time World Cup winner missing the second consecutive tournament after surprised from North Macedonia.
Italy's Giorgio Chiellini looks frustrated after the defeat against North Macedonia.
Mohamed Salah And Riyad Mahrez will be absent after that Egypt And the Algeria Failed to qualify. He will not appear after Salah’s teammate at Liverpool, Luis Diaz Colombia She endured a disappointing qualifying streak.

Young star Erling Haaland is also absent, as is absent Norway He finished third in his qualifying group.

READ  NBA Trade Board 2024: Dejounte Murray, Zach LaVine and other rumored names on the market

Who’s in which bowl?

The Draw is divided into eight groups of four pots, organized according to the men’s FIFA World Rankings as of March 31.

It is not possible to group teams from the same federation together, except for Europe, since they will have 13 teams in Qatar.

Tier 1 – Host Country and Top 7 Ranking Countries

  • Qatar
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • France
  • Argentina
  • England
  • Spain
  • Portugal

Level 2 – from eighth to fifteenth in order

  • Denmark
  • Holland
  • Germany
  • Mexico
  • United States of America
  • Switzerland
  • Croatia
  • Uruguay

Pot 3 – Rank 16 – 23

  • Senegal
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Morocco, West, sunset
  • Serbia
  • Poland
  • South Korea
  • Tunisia

Pot 4 – 24th – 28th place, plus the winners of the Intercontinental Qualifiers and the final winner of the UEFA match

  • Kingdom Saudi Arabia
  • Ecuador
  • Ghana
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Costa Rica or New Zealand
  • Peru, United Arab Emirates or Australia
  • Wales, Ukraine or Scotland

Key dates

Qatar is scheduled to host the curtain-raising on November 21, with the final round of group matches to conclude on December 2.

The knockout stages begin the next day, and run until December 18 when Lusail Stadium hosts the World Cup Final.

how to watch

FIFA will broadcast the draw on its website website, while UK-based viewers can watch via BBC One. Follow live updates here on CNN.