June 17, 2024


Complete Australian News World

List of 33 Englishmen published, Slate rejected

List of 33 Englishmen published, Slate rejected

Henry Slade against Gayle Figo during England-France on March 11. Panoramic

The XV de la Rose coach has announced his selection. Among them were Toulousain Jack Willis, Stade Fran├žais signing Joe Marchant and future Racingman Henry Arundel.

XV De La Rose coach Steve Borthwick announced the 33-man squad for the World Cup (September 8-October 28) on Monday. The main surprise was that center Henry Slade was not retained. A regular in the squad since 2015, he was sacked by previous coach Eddie Jones last November. His versatility (back and winger too) did not convince Borthwick.

Other players who were ultimately not selected included number eight Alex Dombrandt, UBB flanker Tom Willis (who, unlike his brother Jack Willis, was a French champion with Stade Toulouse), center Guy Porter and wingers Joe Koganasika and Johnny May.

Joe Marler and Billy Vunipola are on the list (unlike his brother, prop Mako), Manu Tuilaki, veteran scrum-half Danny Care and future Stade Franchise Paris center Joe Marchant.

Scrum-half Ben Young (33 years, 122 caps), second row Courtney Lawes (34 years, 97 caps) and prop Don Cole (36 years, 100 caps) are playing their fourth World Cup, as is Lawes.

Rugby World Cups impose unique challenges, especially the demands of the players and the flexibility of the squad (…) I believe we have selected a group of 33 players capable of meeting these challenges. Be as competitive as possibleCoach Steve Borthwick promised. As the competition was fierce in the last eight weeks of preparation, many tough decisions had to be made and some of the best players were not selected.┬╗

England begin their World Cup campaign against Argentina in Marseille on September 9. His other opponents in Group D are Japan, Samoa and Chile.

List of 33 people

Before (19)
Pillars: Don Cole (Leicester), Ellis Kenge (Bristol), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Bevan Rodd (Sales), Kyle Sinclair (Bristol), Will Stewart (Bath)
Hookers: Theo Donn (Saracens), Jamie George (Saracens), Jack Walker (Harlequins)
Second Rows: Ollie Sessom (Leicester), Maro Itoje (Saracens), David Rippons (Toulon)
Third Row: Tom Curry (Sale), Ben Earl (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton), Lewis Ludlam (Northampton), George Martin (Leicester), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Jack Willis (Toulouse)

Back (14)
Scrum-half: Danny Care (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester), Jack van Bourtivliet (Leicester)
Openers: Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Dirty), Marcus Smith (Harlequins)
Wingers: Max Mullins (Bristol), Anthony Watson (no club), Elliot Daly (Saracens)
Centres: Ollie Lawrence (Bath), Joe Marchant (French Stadium Paris), Manu Tuilaki (dirt)
Fullbacks: Henry Arundel (Race 92), Freddie Stewart (Leicester)

READ  BTS, Licensed and BUT students are not required to graduate with a Certificate in English