June 17, 2024


Complete Australian News World

The minor finals cost England third place in the World Cup

The minor finals cost England third place in the World Cup

Breathless little finale. Defeated in the semi-finals by New Zealand and South Africa respectively, Argentina and England battled it out in the final at the Stade de France, winning the bronze medal. In this game, the British used their experience and success to win the whistle (26-23) and finish on the podium of the World Cup.

>> Argentina-England rematch

Farrell makes the difference with his feet

If George Ford was the man of the match, taking all the points for XV de la Rose during the remake of the first match in Group D (27-10), Owen Farrell led his side to victory this Friday. Right Path (11 points in first act). But the British found an answer in the person of the Pumas.

Ben Earle scored the first try of the game at Power (0-10, 9th) but Argentina responded just before the break with Tomas Cubelli’s self-sacrifice. The scrum half falls into the ruck.

Carreras, good and bad

Building on its momentum at the end of the first period, Argentina started the second act at full throttle. Strong against the English tacklers, Santiago Carreras smashed his try under the posts to give the Pumas an escape (17-16, 42nd). Initially a hero, the Argentine flyhalf had his kick blocked in the following move. A perfect chance for Theo Tan who gave a breath of fresh air to XV de la Rose (17-23, 45th).

Emiliano Boffelli responded to Owen Farrell against the Poles as the Pumas did not give up (23-26, 69th). Trailing by three points, Argentina waged a huge battle in the money to grab the win. Entering the game, Sanchez had an equalizing penalty at the end of his leg, but his effort went to the left of the posts (74th). The defeat did not dampen Argentina’s ambition, as they stumbled in the English pack until Nick Perry’s final whistle.

READ  The government will relax health measures for English tourists

Not to be outdone, England defied the odds to win bronze for the first time in its history since gold and three silver medals in 2003. After 2007, Argentina again leaves with chocolate, but with the smile of a successful World Cup. A match that will end in style on Saturday, with Final between South Africa and New Zealand (21 hours).

Original article published in RMC Sport

Video – New Zealand – South Africa: “Winner can boast 8 years”